10 comments on “A trip down memory lane: Ratchet & Clank 3

  1. Happy belated birthday! 😀 Oh, Ratchet and Clank is legendary. I even played the PSP spin-offs, and they were just as good. As for the Jak series…I played the third, half of the second and I loved the Daxter spin-off. Naughty Dog is just awesome, all-round.

    Childhood games would be…Crash Bandicoot, Spyro, the Dragonball Budokai games, the Lego Star Wars series, the Tony Hawk series, and SSX3. I would put Pokemon, but I still play that. 😉 Those games were my childhood. And it’s not, uh, exactly a kid’s game, but I played GTA: San Andreas pretty young. And I loved it.

  2. Ratchet & Clank is one of the most consistant series in gaming history, and 3 was especially brilliant! I haven’t yet played the HD versions yet, but I have little doubt that they are as good as I vividly remember.
    My favourite childhood game would have to be either playing the TMNT’s on the Nintendo (first ever game I played, when I was about 5), or Resident Evil 2, when I was exactly the right age to be playing it……sort of? *cough*

    • Lol, we all played big boy games before our time, nothing to be ashamed of 🙂

      The thing that really struck me with this collection as opposed to the Jak trilogy was that they weren’t just great, they were AS great as I remembered. Nostalgia has tinted my view of games before, so I was thrilled that R&C 3 had stood the test of time.

  3. Happy Birthday!

    I was in love with Mortal Kombat and Sonic on the Sega Genesis but even before that, I remember renting every single Megaman game that I could as a kid.

  4. Those R&C games hold their replay value pretty well and they’re always a pleasure to fire up. The R&C: Future ToD on the PS3 was actually the reason I chose the PS3 during my personal console war, haha.

    Oh, man… if I feel like going down nostalgia road, I fire up an old NES game called Astyanax. It’s an old platform-hack-and-slash game that I REALLY love playing.

  5. I love the “Ratchet and Clank” series. I played “Up Your Arsenal” for the first time several months ago. I loved it so much (especially because of Nefarious, who has since become one of my top favorite characters) that I bought a PS3 and got caught up on most of the new games. “Up Your Arsenal” is still my top favorite. It’s tons of fun, hilarious, and it is more challenging than the new games. (And by the way, “Jak II” was indeed always that hard.)

    I like Clank’s laugh. I’ve never tried it, though. I usually try to do Mr. Zurkon impressions. “Mr. Zurkon requires no nanotech to survive. Mr. Zurkon lives on fear.”

Leave a Reply

